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Website address: THE STATE AUDITOR HAS MOVED!
WWW.sao.state.ut.us o
\ With the completion of the two new buildings
MacRay Curti D, on Capitol Hill, the Utah State Auditor's
Di ackay LUurtls Office has moved offices so that the Capitol
ivision Director (( .
Counties can be re-modeled. We are now located in the
538-1335 r| ‘ > newly completed east building, third floor,

macraycurtis@utah.gov

Richard Moon
Cities & Towns
538-1334
richardmoon@utah.gov

Kent Godfrey
School Districts
Non-Profit Corporations
538-1384
kgodfrey@utah.gov

Van Christensen
Special Districts
538-1394
vchristensen@utah.gov

Questions or Concerns?

If any entity has questions or
concerns regarding budgeting,
financial reporting, or compliance
with state law or policy, please
feel free to call any of the
individuals listed above. If we
don’t have the answer, we can
research the question or refer you
to the office or individual that can
help you! Outside the Salt Lake
City area, feel free to use our toll-
free telephone number; 1-800-622-
1243. You can also e-mail us at
the addresses shown above.

\ \ ’ O\ room 310. Our new address is:
@ @ Office of the State Auditor

Utah State Capitol Complex
East Office Building, Suite E310
P.O. Box 142310

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2310

Please be aware of this change for future correspondence with our office.

NEW AUDIT THRESHOLDS

HB 142- Audit Requirements for Political
Subdivisions, passed this last legislative
session. This new law changes the
thresholds for when audits are required by
political subdivisions. The new law requires
governments (including non-profits with at
least 50% of their revenues coming from
governmental sources) with revenues or
expenditures $350,000 or more to have an
audit by a certified public accountant. Governments with revenues or
expenditures greater than or equal to $200,000 but less than $350,000
must have a review by a certified public accountant. Governments with
revenues or expenditures greater than or equal to $100,000 but less than
$200,000 must have a compilation by a certified public accountant.
Governments with revenues or expenditures less than $100,000 must
submit a financial report on forms provided by the state auditor.

To better educate local governments on the differences between an audit,
review, and compilation, we have included the following American
Institute of CPAs (AICPA) definitions:



An audit is a systematic collection of sufficient,
competent evidential matter needed to attest to the
fairness of the financial statement presentation, in
accordance with applicable generally accepted
accounting principles. The auditor obtains this
evidential matter through inspection, observation,
inquiries and confirmations with third parties.

The AICPA defines a review of financial
statements as performing inquiry and analytical
procedures that provide the auditor with a
reasonable basis for expressing limited assurance
that there are not material modifications that
should be made to the financial statements for
them to be in conformity with the generally
accepted accounting principles (GAAP), or if
applicable, with another comprehensive basis of
accounting. In performing a review, the auditor
performs limited audit procedures to provide a
basis for providing negative assurance on the
presentation of financial statements in accordance
with GAAP.

The AICPA defines the compilation of financial
statements as presenting in the form of financial
statements information that is the representation of
management without undertaking to express any
assurance on the statements.

One exception to the general threshold rule relates
to charter schools. All charter schools not reported
in a school district’s financial statement, regardless
of the amount of revenue or expenditures they
have will be required to have an audit. The Utah
State Auditor does have the power and authority
by law to set higher threshold for certain entities.
Charter schools have reporting requirement similar
to school districts. The State Auditor feels that an
audit is necessary to provide adequate financial
oversight of charter schools. Therefore, it has been
determined that charter schools should always
have an audit, like all the other school districts in
the Utah. Charter schools created by school
districts must be reported as a major fund of the
school district.

Please be aware of these changes and how they
might affect your government. HB 142 became
effective May 5, 2004. Reports due to the State
Auditor's Office after this date should follow the
new thresholds. (A government with a 12/31/03
year end is required to submit financial statements

to the State Auditor's Office by 6/30/04. Since this
is after May 5, 2004, the new thresholds would
apply to governmental entities with a 12/31/03
year end.)

Please contact our office with any questions or
concerns.

Accounting and Reporting for
Compensated Absences

“Compensated
absences” commonly
describe paid time off
made available to
employees in
connection with
vacation leave, sick

leave, and similar

benefits. For
financial reporting purposes, compensated
absences are strictly limited to leave that 1) is
attributable to services already rendered, and 2) is
not contingent on a specific event (such as illness)
that is outside the control of the employer and
employee. GAAP require that employers report a
liability for compensated absences that meet both
of these criteria. A government should recognize a
liability for vacation leave if it meets two
conditions: The vacation leave is related to
employee services already rendered, and it is
probable that the leave will be paid.

The term vested commonly describes employee
benefits that are not dependent on continued
employment. GAAP require that in addition to
vested amounts, vacation leave also must be
reported for nonvested amounts that are expected
to vest.

The liability for vacation leave should include
salary-related payments, which are payments
directly and incrementally related to the amount of
salary paid to the employee. Typical salary-
related payments include the employer’s share of
Social Security, Medicare taxes, employer
contributions to cost-sharing multiple-employer
public employee retirement systems, and employer
payments to defined contribution pension
arrangements.




The liability for vacation leave should be
calculated using pay or salary rates in effect at the
date of the statement of net assets. Current salary
costs are used for this purpose because they are
considered “objective, easily measurable, and not
affected by the timing of pay increases.”

Sick leave does not qualify as a compensated
absence because it is contingent on a future event
(namely illness) that is beyond the control of both
the employer and the employee. Accordingly, sick
leave should not be accrued as a liability. It is
common, however, for governments to make a
payment to employees upon termination for a
portion of their balance of unused sick leave.
When unused sick leave is payable upon
termination, it is no longer contingent on a future
event outside the control of both the employer and
the employee and, consequently, must be included
as part of the liability for compensated absences.
Either of two approaches can be taken to measure
the amount of the liability for unused sick leave
payable upon termination:

Termination payments method. Under this
approach, a government estimates the
amount of sick leave that will be paid out
upon termination based on its experience in
making such payments.

Vesting method. Financial statement
preparers following this approach estimate
the liability for sick leave payouts by
calculating the amount of sick leave that is
expected to become eligible for payment at
termination. This calculation, of course,
must take into account caps on the amount
of sick leave eligible for payout (for
instance, 30 days), as well as any special
rates that apply to sick leave payouts
(perhaps 30 percent of normal pay).

Keeping our e-mail database accurate is important.
If you currently do not receive periodic e-mails
from the Utah State Auditor’s Office or have
recently changed your e-mail address, please send
your e-mail address to kgodfrey@utah.gov so we
can update our database.

Thank you for all the work you do for local
governments throughout the state.

JUST ANOTE

The State of Utah Legal Compliance Audit Guide
has been updated and is available on our office’s
web site (www.sao.state.ut.us/sulcag/index.htm).
Please note that the sample reports in the index
have been updated to comply with requirements of
GASB Statement 34.

YELLOW BOOK CPE

STATE AUDITOR’S LOCAL
GOVERNMENT E-MAIL DATABASE

We have discovered that e-mail is
the most effective way to quickly
communicate governmental
accounting/auditing issues to local
governments and their CPAs.

Many of you are already
aware of a number of
changes relating to
Government Auditing
Standards (GAGAS),
commonly referred to as
the Yellow Book. There
has been some confusion
about the changes made in the area of continuing
professional education (CPE). Paragraph 3.45 of
GAGAS states that “auditors planning, directing,
performing field work, or reporting on an audit or
attestation engagement under GAGAS should
complete at least 80 hours of CPE that directly
enhance the auditor’s professional proficiency
to perform audits and/ or attestation
engagements. At least 24 of the 80 hours of CPE
should be in subjects directly related to
government auditing, the government
environment, or the specific or unique
environment in which the audited entity operates.”

The confusion has arisen over the phrase “at least
80 hours of CPE that directly enhance the auditor’s
professional proficiency to perform audit and/ or
attestation engagements” and what type of CPE
does or does not “directly enhance the auditor’s
professional proficiency to perform audits and/ or
attestation engagements. The General Accounting




Office (GAO), has issued the following
interpretation regarding CPE:

“In some cases, auditors must apply
professional judgment in determining
whether training qualifies under GAGAS.
For example, tax services, in general, are
not related to the subject matter of
audits performed under GAGAS, and,
accordingly CPE related to tax would
not normally qualify as CPE for purposes
of satisfying GAGAS requirements.”

This interpretation is very clear in stating that tax
related CPE does not qualify as GAGAS CPE.
GAGAS does state that topics that contribute to
auditor’s proficiency in perform audits and/ or
attestation engagements, such as development in
auditing standards and methodology, accounting
principles, assessment of internal controls,

Utah State Auditor’s Office
Utah State Capitol Complex
East Office Building, Suite E310
P.O. Box 142310

SLC, Utah 84114-2310

principles of management or supervision,
information systems management, audit sampling,
financial statement analysis, evaluation design, and
data analysis would all count toward the 80 hour
requirement. Most CPE will count toward the 80
hour requirement except for tax CPE. Remember
that there is no change to the 24 hour requirement.
Twenty-four of the 80 total CPE hours must be
directly related to government auditing or the
government environment.

The effective date of the CPE requirement for
financial audits and attestation engagements is for
periods ending on or after January 1, 2004. Please
be aware of these changes so you can adequately
plan to be in complete compliance with GAGAS.
If you have any questions about the new GAGAS
CPE requirement, you can contact Kent Godfrey at
(801) 538-1384 or at kgodfrey@utah.gov.



