
Office of the Utah State Auditor 
Local Government Entities and Governmental Nonprofits+ 

 Reporting Requirements & Deadlines  
For FY and CY 2016 Reports 

 

Revision date: 3/31/2016 

Total Annual Revenue or Expenses Greater than $750,000 

Date 
Submitted  

Submitted 
by 

Document Type Submit to: Deadline 

  Budget – Original adopted budget reporting.auditor.utah.gov 30 days after adoption 

  Financial Audit Reporting Package: 

All components are to be submitted  
together to: 

 
reporting.auditor.utah.gov 

180 days after year end 

  

• Financial Statement Report 
- Independent Auditor’s Report  

- Independent Auditor’s Report on I/C and Compliance in 
Accordance with Government Auditing Standards (Yellow 
Book Report) 

  

• State Compliance Audit Report:  
- Independent Auditor’s Report in Accordance with “State 
Compliance Audit Guide” 

  

• Single Audit Report (if more than $750,000 of federal 

awards was received or expended)  

- Independent Auditor’s Report on Compliance for Each Major 
Program and on I/C over Compliance required by OMB A-133 

- Schedule of Expenditures of Federal Awards 

  

• Report on Findings and Recommendations 
- Written findings and recommendations relative to all of the 

above audits 

- Management’s Response 

  
Financial Certification 
This document certifies that the audited financial statements are 
accurate. 

Follow instructions that appear 
on-screen after uploading  

the Financial Audit Reporting Package 

180 days after year end 

  

Utah Public Finance (Transparency) 
Website Submission 
• Mapping of entity’s operational chart of accounts to State 

Uniform Chart of Accounts (see 
http://auditor.utah.gov/publications/ uniform-chart-of-
accounts/) 

• Upload to Transparency Website 
-Quarterly Revenue & Expenses 
-Annual Balance Sheet Data 
-Annual Payroll Data 

transparent.utah.gov 
 

For help, see http://finance.utah.gov/rep
orting/documents/01-01-02.pdf 

or contact Darrell Swensen in the State 
Division of Finance at 801-538-3059 or 

darrellswensen@utah.gov 

- 1st, 2nd, and 3rd quarterly 
Revenue & Expenses must be 
uploaded within 30 days after 
fiscal quarter end and 90 
days after 4th fiscal quarter 
end. .  

- Annual Balance Sheet Data 
must be uploaded within 180 
days after year end. 

- Annual Payroll Data must be 
uploaded within 90 days after 
year end. 

  Impact Fee Report  
(only applicable for entities who assess impact fees) 

reporting.auditor.utah.gov 180 days after year end 

  Deposit and Investment Form 
Required by the Utah Money Management Council 

Attach form to email sent to: 

mmcouncil@utah.gov 

January 31 and 

July 31 

 of each year 
+Governmental Nonprofits (defined) - A nonprofit corporation in which one governmental entity has the majority controlling interest. 

NOTE:  Reports will not post to the OSA website until they have gone through a preliminary review to determine if report components are appropriate.  
 

 

Download report templates here: auditor.utah.gov/local-government-2/publications/forms-for-local-governments/ 

 

For help uploading the reports to OSA website, contact:    Kylie Cone at 801-538-1364 or kcone@utah.gov 

For questions regarding completing the reports, contact:   Van Christensen at 801-538-1394 (counties) 

 Jeremy Walker at 801-538-1040 (cities/towns) 

 Ryan Roberts at 801-538-1721 (districts and other) 


